Monday, October 6, 2008

Center Announces Excellence in Teaching Award Winner

Center has announced the winner of their excellence in teaching award. Congrads to all of the teachers who were nominated. It was nice to even see one of my old professors on the list.

"Center is pleased to announce that Patrick Hebert is the winner of the 2008 Excellence in Photographic Teaching Award. "Pato", as his students affectionately know him, teaches photography at Art Center College of Design, Pasadena, CA and is the Associate Director of Education for the AIDS Project Los Angeles. This annual award recognizes and rewards a high school, college or post-graduate level educator for their dedication and passion for photographic teaching. Since first offering the prize in 1997, Center has awarded more than $31,000 to outstanding photography teachers.

This year's juror Joan Dooley, recipient of the 2007 Excellence in Photographic Teaching Award, also awarded an Honorable Mention to Sama Alshaibi, Assistant Professor of Photography at University of Arizona, School of Art, Tuscon and Terry Towery, Associate Professor of Art at Lehman College of the City University of New York.

2008 Candidates
Each year we receive many genuine and passionate nominations from students and faculty. We commend and express our gratitude to all of the worthy applicants.

Garth Amundson, Western Washington University, Bellingham, WA
Alison Barrows, Front Range Community College, Longmont, CO
Susan Boecher, Augsburg College, Minneapolis, MN
Peter Brown, Rice University, Houston, TX
Martha Casanave, Cabrillo College, Santa Cruz, CA
Pete Christman, Savannah College of Art and Design, Savannah, GA
Donna Clovis, West Windsor-Plainsboro High School North, Plainsboro, NJ
Nancy Davenport, School of Visual Arts, New York, NY
Wade Duerkes, Waubonsee Community College, Sugar Grove, IL
James Friedman, James Friedman Photography Workshops, Columbus, OH
Erika Gentry, City College of San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Leslie Grant, Parsons School of Design, Brooklyn, NY
Wendy Green, Sandia High School, Albuquerque, NM
Connie Imboden, Maryland Institute College of Art, Baltimore, MD
Samar Jodha, Spectra Maxima International, Dubai, United
Arab Emirates
Karen Keating, The Field School, Washington, D.C.
Javier Larenas, LaGuardia Community College, Long Island City, NY
C. Sandy Lopez-Isnardi, Alma College, Alma, MI
Osamu James Nakagawa, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN
Bob Nishihira, City College of San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Kate Philbrick, Salt Institute for Documentary Studies, Portland, ME
Marisa Portolese, Concordia University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Heather Protz, College of Southern Nevada, Las Vegas, NV
Shanon Rice, Antonelli College, Newport, KY
Abby Robinson, Pratt Institute, New York, NY
Wilka Roig, Cornell University, Ithica, NY
Jacinda Russell, Ball State University, Muncie, IN
Bob Sacha, International Center of Photography, New York, NY
Aline Smithson, Julia Dean Photoworkshops, Los Angeles, CA
Harvey Stein, International Center of Photography, New York, NY
Craig Stevens, Savannah College of Art and Design, Savannah, GA
Nancy Sutor, College of Santa Fe, Santa Fe, NM
Michelle Van-Parys, College of Charleston, Charleston, SC
Vera Viditz-Ward, Bloomsburg University, Bloomsburg, PA
Ellen Wallenstein, School of Visual Arts, New York, NY
Don Werthmann, Washtenaw Community College, Ann Arbor, MI
John H. White, Columbia College, Chicago, IL
Sarah Whiting, The Art Institutes International, Minneapolis, MN "

No comments:

Post a Comment