Thursday, August 20, 2009

Hey Lucie!


Photographers to be feted on Monday, October 19, 2009, 6:00 p.m.
Alice Tully Hall

Los Angeles, Calif. (August 20, 2009) - The 7th annual Lucie Awards will be presented at Lincoln Center's newly renovated Alice Tully Hall, on Monday, October 19, 2009 at 6:00 p.m. Honorees and top winners from the 2009 IPA competition will be recognized. The Lucie Awards, produced by the Lucie Foundation, (a non-profit, charitable foundation), honor the achievements of the world's finest photographers, discover emerging talent through the International Photography Awards and promote the appreciation of photography worldwide. Tickets go on sale Friday, August 21 at

Some of the masters being recognized will include Fazal Sheikh (Humanitarian Award), Gilles Peress (Achievement in Photojournalism), Jean Paul Goude (Achievement in Fashion), and Marvin Newman (Achievement in Sports). The W. Eugene Smith Fund, celebrating their 30th Year of Grant-Giving will be presented with the Spotlight Award. Each year, Honorees are nominated by the 55 member Advisory Board.

Past honorees include: Larry Clark, Elliott Erwitt, Kenro Izu, Albert Watson, Melvin Sokolsky, Herman Leonard, Steve McCurry, Mary Ellen Mark, Sebastiao Salgado, Bert Stern, James Nachtwey, Douglas Kirkland, Sarah Moon, Susan Meiselas, Patrick Demarchelier, Erwin Olaf, Harry Benson, David Bailey, Neil Leifer, Peter Lindbergh and the late Gordon Parks, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Philip Jones Griffith, William Claxton and Cornell Capa.

The Lucies will also recognize those in the creative community who are integral in crafting an image in the following categories: Print Advertising Campaign of the Year, Fashion Layout of the Year, Photography Magazine of the Year, Book Publisher of the Year, Exhibition/Curator of the Year and Picture Editor of the Year. The IPA competition will announce its top winners from the 2009 competition and distribute $20,000 in cash prizes across the top three awards. IPA prizes include $10,000 for the International Photographer of the Year Award provided by AtEdge, $5,000 prize to the Discovery of the Year Award, and $5,000 to the Deeper Perspective Photographer of the Year, provided by Blurb.

The Lucie Awards official media partner is PDN and Photo Plus International. LaCie, the leading provider of integrated storage solutions, color monitors and accessories, sponsors this year's Lucie Awards. Additional support is provided by, AtEDGE, Blurb, Duggal, Hance Partners, and Splashlight Studios.

Tickets for the Lucie Awards go on sale on Friday, August 21, at

No comments:

Post a Comment